Monthly Favourites

May Favourites

This past month has been crazy. Since lockdown started, I’ve been trying to find ways to preoccupy my mind and staying productive while being stuck in my house. It’s allowed me to find a lot of new favourites for this month. So with each mention I’ll add a link, so that you guys can take a look for yourselves.

Morphe X Jeffree Star Eye Brush Collection

THE JEFFREE STAR EYE BRUSH COLLECTION

My favourite part of teaching myself makeup was the creativity behind eyeshadow. When I first started my project, I didn’t have any brushes, so I’d use one of my mum’s old angular brushes, which did the job, but it wasn’t until I started using the eyeshadow set that I realised how hard I had been working to blend and pick up the shadows. But with the different varieties of sizes and shapes makes it so easy to blend and shape the shades I want into whatever shape. Plus, the set comes in a cute pink makeup bag to keep all of my brushes safe.

Bdellium Tools Brush Cleanser

Treasure House Of Makeup

Most of the palettes that I own are bright colour themes with strong pigmentation, making it so much easier to stain the brushes, carrying parts of the shadows every time I use them. But what I thought would be an exhausting task of cleaning my brushes became so much easier with this brush cleanser that comes with a scrubbing pad on the lid of each tin.

With one dunk in warm water and swab across the bar of soap, all that’s needed is to scrub my brushes gently on the cleaning pad and leaving to dry, my brushes are like brand new all over again. Another plus is the clean, fresh lemon scent that comes from the soap and sticks to my brushes.

Jeffree Star Eyeshadow Palettes

I’ve put all of these palettes into one category, mainly because I bought all of them around the same time, but also because they all have similar qualities that make them one of my favourite products of this month. The palettes that I do own are: ‘Blood Sugar’, ‘Blue Blood’, ‘Blood Lust’, ‘Conspiracy’, and ‘Mini Controvercy’.

Each one made it onto this list because of the creativity that they unleash through their bright variety of colours, making it fun to play around with different looks and styles. They each have a high level of quality, with the high pigments, and exciting shaped cases. Everyday I think of new ways to use the different colours. If you guys want to see some of the first looks I made with these palettes, take a look at my post: ‘Teaching Myself Makeup at the Age of 19′.

LED Ring Light

If you’re like me and you don’t have great lighting wherever you do your makeup, if it’s in your bathroom where the sunlight doesn’t reach your windows enough to light the room, or downstairs in your living room where you have old fashioned lighted with a yellow tint, then your makeup can end up patchy and uneven. The amount of times I’d do my makeup just to find how orange my face is from my concealer.

But this LED ring light is perfect for getting the best light. The white light helps highlight each colour, making sure everything is even. What’s great is its size. Small enough to carry around wherever you go, but also attached to a clip, making it easy to stabilise on your phone. This made everything so much easier when doing my makeup in a dark room, and so cheap as well! Would 100% recommend to anyone who considers buying a light.

Carbon Theory Soap

Another goal/project of mine during lockdown was to improve my skincare. By building up a skincare regime, I felt both mentally and physically healthy, creating a sound structure at a time where everything is uncertain.

Carbon Theory's Charcoal Soap for Acne - Before & After Photos

Before I had purchased Carbon Theory’s Cleansing Soap, I had been using a ‘Clean & Clear’ face wash, but I felt like it was doing nothing for my skin. I’d heard good things about Carbon Theory, and the price was pretty cheap for a face wash at £6 per bar. By the second day of using the bar, I could already feel my skin improving. Because of my pale skin, my forehead had an uneven dry skin. But by exfoliating my skin with the bar, I noticed that my skintone had become more and more even, and a lot softer and smoother. I would definitely buy this product again, and am tempted to by more products from Carbon Theory.

Fine Line by Harry Styles

I have never really been a ‘fan’ of Harry Styles. When I was a kid I had a huge One Direction phase, especially during their ‘Midnight Memories’ era. But since then, I haven’t really listened to their music.

Harry Styles Defies Expectations on New Album 'Fine Line' - The ...

But a guilty pleasure of mine is to watch clips of Harry Style’s interactions with his fans while he’s on tour. But after hearing the hype behind his latest album, I thought I’d give it a go, and was it the best decision I’ve made. After hearing it for the first time, I wanted to hear it again, and again and again. I’m not overreacting when I say that I had this album on repeat 24/7.

The whole album from start to finish is a journey, exploring different genres and instrumental combinations, balancing different emotions with each story behind each song. The dark indie rock behind the first track ‘Golden’. The hypnotic Californian vibe of ‘Watermelon Sugar’. The electro, indie California aesthetic of ‘Sunflower, vol 6’ to the melancholic acoustic feel of ‘Falling’. Let alone Harry Styles creating his own genre with the song ‘Treat People with Kindness’ that builds this bubbly atmosphere around you whenever you hear the song. Listening to this album gave me all the feels, and I can’t stop listening to it.

Normal People by Sally Rooney

I love English Literature. I always have, and probably always will. Which is why I chose to study it at A-level, and why I’m going to be studying it at uni. But while I’m caught up with exams, I don’t really have time to read for personal pleasure. But since lockdown, I’ve had all this free time, and yet I couldn’t feel motivated enough to read anything.

Normal People by Sally Rooney | Waterstones

But one night I was stood in my room staring at my bookshelf for no reason but to look at all of the books I owned, most of which I hadn’t even read yet. And then it was like the book was calling to me to read it, in the corner of my bookshelf, buried underneath ‘Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine’ and ‘Conversations with Friends’. As soon as I picked the book up, I couldn’t put it down. Next thing I know, it’s 1am, and I’m already half way through the novel. As soon as I woke up the next day, I picked up the book and finished it within a couple of hours.

Since ‘Normal People’ I had never had the experience of physically not being able to put down a book. The way Sally Rooney structured her novel around the love of two characters, Connell and Marianne, and the love they have for each other, she illustrated the change that comes between two people as they grow up, growing apart from other individuals, and growing together at the same time. Rooney challenges what family, love and friendship is to people as they find themselves in their world. What matters most to each individual, and what matters least. As soon as I finished this novel, I knew that I’d be comparing every novel I’d reed afterwards to it.

Each product I mentioned above helped make this month more enjoyable, so if you want to take a look yourselves, click the link on each one. And if you want to let me know what products made your month, or you think I might like, feel free to comment below. If you liked this blog page, like and share. I’ll be posting once a week so feel free to keep an eye for any new posts xoxo

1 thought on “May Favourites”

Leave a comment